The Armed Forces Qualification Test (AFQT) is used by all of the Services to determine if an applicant is eligible for the military.

Four of the ASVAB subtests are combined to form the AFQT. It measures general cognitive ability and is composed of verbal and mathematics subtests. AFQT scores are grouped into categories for reporting purposes. The table below shows the AFQT categories and the percentile score ranges corresponding to the categories. Applicants that score in AFQT category IIIA or higher may qualify for enlistment incentives.

AFQT Category Percentile Score Range
I 93 – 99
II 65 – 92
IIIA 50 – 64
IIIB 31 – 49
IV 10 – 30
V 1 – 9

The minimum AFQT score required to qualify for enlistment varies across the different branches of service. Contact a military recruiter or visit one of the Service-specific websites listed below to find out more about the required minimum AFQT score.

ASVAB - Military Careers